Quote Unquote

Note: The quotes below are all made up, most of them within the few minutes preceding the deadline for the Lit-Soc Creative Writing event. For some reason, it was decided by most of the hostel junta that we will go with Barbie dolls as the theme of our entry (keeping in mind their 50th anniversary), with the primary purpose of poking fun at them.

Having picked a theme that I have no knowledge of, everybody else went off to sleep, leaving me with four A4 sheets to fill in four hours. Somehow we met the deadline, with six of the seven articles having been put together at the last minute. Needless to mention, we did not score any points. It was also the very first time in my life that I disliked having to write, and is something I never want to do again.

However, I quite enjoyed making up these quotes. Some of them were funny, even. I doubt if the judges got the joke, though.
______________________________________________________________

“I’m a Barbie Girl, in my Barbie world.”
– Aquaman

“If Barbie is so popular, why do you have to buy her friends?”
– A frustrated parent, on Barbie

“Math is Hard.”
– Professor Barbie, during a lecture on the Mohs scale

“I was JEE rank 1035. Will you marry me?”
– Average IITian, on seeing Barbie

“I am less gay than him.”
– Ken, on seeing aforementioned IITian

“Barbie dolls! When I was little, I used to secretly play with them when I was all alone in my room… no, wait, that sounded perverted.”
– A male of questionable sexuality

“I um… actually got a bit confused since they both look the same. I planned on casting Indian Barbie in my next film, not that Slumdog girl.”
– Woody Allen

“Barbie can divide by size zero.”
Chuck Norris, on Facts About Barbie
_________________________________________________________________________________________
PS: That last one is actually pretty good. Whaddya know, I fed my blog something slightly substantial.
_

9 Responses to “Quote Unquote”

  1. Param Says:

    nice sir………JEE quote was brilliant

  2. mariyamubarak Says:

    Good ones. I was one of those deprived girl child who never got to play with a barbie 😦

  3. Smita Says:

    ha hahhaaa…. nice one..
    btw..is it true that megadeth is coming there? damn u nerds have all the fun!

  4. Silverstreak_ Says:

    It has been long.

    Haha, loved the JEE quote!

  5. Vinayak Sapru Says:

    @all
    thanks! btw, Mr. JEE- 1035 is a person. In case you are reading this Samadhi, it wasn’t my idea to make specific reference to you in the creative writing entry. Honest.

    @mariya
    seriously? even i used would occasionally pit my cousin’s barbie versus ken in no-holds-barred bare knuckle boxing matches.

    @smita
    rumors do travel fast. no band has confirmed, as far as i know. it should be certain by nov-dec.

    @silverstreak
    every few months, i get a bit pained with the blog and the internet in general.

  6. Adeel Says:

    ‘No da, i have HEL 666 to mug.’
    – IITian Barbie’s reply to IITian 1035

  7. Boneywasawarriorwayayix Says:

    Mine was 1005 😀 not 1035… 🙂

    Awesome quotes…
    Megadeth is coming? 😮 Where did that rumour come from?

  8. Vinayak Sapru Says:

    blame the incorrect rank on amith. also, i have no idea where that rumor came from. btw, another rumor claims that porcupine tree are coming for mood indigo.

  9. JimmyBean Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

